CLM Chapter 3: Gardening & Farmers Markets

If you read my blog at all, you know that I love my vegetable garden and I am out of control.  It is great and wonderful and the best thing ever.  I could go on.  And on.  But I won’t, because I’ve done that already.  Here

But I digress.  Back to conscious living.  One of the great things about having your very own vegetable garden is the impact (or lack there of) on the environment.  There are many ways in which commercial farming impacts the environment, from use of pesticides to pollution for transportation to retail markets.  Don’t get me wrong.  I love that my local grocery stocks a wide variety of fresh fruits and veggies year round, and I appreciate it even more during the winter.  But the truth is that the availability of that produce, especially produce that doesn’t grow easily in your region, has a cost to it more than just the price you pay.  And that makes me love my garden that much more.  Not only do veggies taste better strait from the garden,  (If you’ve never experienced a fresh tomato strait off the plant, you have been deprived and if you come to my house this summer I’ll give you one, because you just have to try it to truly understand.) and not only are they so readily accessible, but  it is so earth friendly to have your own garden.  And great and awesome, if I haven’t mentioned that already.

What if gardening isn’t your thing?  First, let me gasp and faint and try to comprehend how that could be possible.  Okay, I can’t really comprehend, but I’ll pretend to get it and go on.  Farmers markets are the non gardener’s best friend.  It is the closest you can get to your own fresh wonderful amazing garden.  Fruits and veggies are just almost fresh picked, likely the same day.  They likely haven’t traveled too far to get to you.  And when you shop at farmers markets, you are also shopping local.  Find out more about that here.  Wow!  Look how many ways you just lived consciously all at the same time. 

For those of you in the Tulsa area, here are some local farmers markets you can check out this spring and summer.  Here is a link to OKGrown.com’s listing of all Oklahoma Farmers markets.

Downtown Farmers Market – Williams Green, 3rd & Boston, May to October – Tuesdays 10:30a to 2p

Cherry Street Farmers Market – 15th and Peoria – April to October, Saturday 7a to 11a

CSFM Brookside – 41st and Peoria – April to October, Wednesdays 8a to 12p

Pearl Farmers Market – Centennial Park – April to September, Thursdays 4:30p to 8p

North Tulsa Farmers Market – 2620 E 56th Street N – June to October, Saturdays 8:30a to 12:30p

Jenks Farmers Market – Riverside Pedestrian Bridge – May to September, Saturdays 7a to 12p

Owasso Farmers Market – YMCA – May to October, Saturdays 8a to 12p, Wednesdays 7a to 11a

Leave a comment

Filed under Conscious Living, Gardening

Leave a Reply

