Hey, Tulsa! Where you at?

This week, college basketball conference tournaments are going on across the nation.  Tulsa hosted the Conference USA Tournament.  Through my employer, I got tickets to one session today, and the championship game tomorrow.  The  University of Tulsa made it to today’s round and played in the first game of the afternoon session.

The place was not packed, that is for sure.  I was really disappointed in the turn out at the game.  Tickets did not cost that much and the home team played!  I have been to other local sporting events, both TU athletics and city team events like hockey, that also did not have a good turn out.

For all the talk about making Tulsa more attractive to outsiders and adding all kinds of new dining, entertainment and lodging, we locals don’t take advantage of what we have.  What’s up with that?  I know I do not get out to local events as much as I would like, but I try.  I would love for Tulsa to become a more ‘cosmpolitan’ city, but without real support from the residents how will that ever happen?

I don’t have any answers, but I know things are going to have change in our attitudes and behaviors if we ever want things to change in our city.

Leave a comment

Filed under Tulsa

Leave a Reply

