A Letter to Yoga

Dear Yoga,

First, let me apologize for neglecting you these past few weeks. Life got the better of me and I wrongly chose to put you on the back burner while tending to other things. You have always been there for me when I have needed you and I regret that I put you aside.

You may never truly know the impact you have had on my life. From my days as a stressed, rushed college student just trying to survive my final year to now, as a stressed, rushed newlywed and corporate employee trying to find balance in life you have never failed to make things better. The simple act of unrolling my mat and standing there – feet firmly planted, chest lifted, shoulders down and back changes my whole perspective. And then I breathe.

Of course, it was not always this way. The first time I stood on a yoga mat, I just stood there. I did not understand. I did not understand what it meant to ‘do’ yoga. I did not understand that my mat was a holy place, a space to come, with my tension, anxiety, self-doubt, and fear, and release those feelings that were holding me back. But I soon learned.

I learned that yoga is really about me. No matter where I am practicing, who is teaching, or how many people are in class, my yoga practice is very personal and very intimate. Every breath, every asana, is a chance to know myself better. It is a chance to accept myself, just as I am, no matter what I have been feeling, no matter what others have told me. Yoga is my time.

So, yoga, I would like to say thank you. Thank you for allowing me to find myself through you. Thank you for being the one thing I can always count on, anytime, anywhere. Thank you for enriching my life, both on and off the mat.

Your loyal friend,
Jessica

1 Comment

Filed under Yoga

One response to “A Letter to Yoga

  1. busygradgirl

    Great post. I feel the same way about yoga.

Leave a Reply

