Apple Pear Crisp

Last week while perusing the Glue and Glitter blog, I found her recipe for a Vegan Apple Pear Crisp made with brown sugar cinnamon Ritz crackers.  It looked so simple and so yummy, I just had to try it.  Admittedly, I cheated and used real butter, so my recipe wasn’t vegan.  It was super easy to make and came out really good.  But… (and isn’t there always a but) the Ritz cracker topping was not as crispy and crunchy as I would have liked.  The flavor was good, but it was a just a bit soft.  So I decided to try the crisp with a streusel topping recipe I had that topped a fruit coffee cake.  (Which is a fabulous and delicious cake I can’t wait to make again and blog about.) It was more difficult to make, but came out crispy, crunchy, streusely, and perfect!  I also want to try this with other fruits, like peaches. 

Below is the original recipe and my recipe.  I did not take pictures the first time around, so I only have pics of my streusel topped fruit crisp. 

Ritz Vegan Apple Pear Crisp (Courtesy of Glue and Glitter)

¼ cup Vegan Margarine (I used real butter – not vegan)

1 sleeve Brown Sugar Cinnamon Ritz Crackers

3 apples – peeled, cored, and thinly sliced

3 pears – peeled, cored, and thinly sliced

Cream the margarine in a bowl, crumble the Ritz Crackers and add to the margarine.  Layer the sliced apples and pears in the bottom of a baking dish.  (I used 9×13).  Cover with the crumble topping.  Bake at 350 degrees for 40 minutes.

Jessica’s Streusel Topped Apple Pear Crisp

½ cup butter (I figure you can substitute the vegan margarine and restore the recipe to its vegan roots)

½ cup granulated sugar

½ cup brown sugar

2/3 cup flour

1 tsp cinnamon

½ tsp nutmeg

3 apples – peeled, cored, and thinly sliced

3 pears – peeled, cored, and thinly slicedCream butter in a bowl with electric mixer, add sugar, brown sugar, then flour mixing well.  Add cinnamon and nutmeg. Layer sliced apples and pears in the bottom of a baking dish. Crumble the moist streusel topping over the fruit.  It will not completely cover the fruit, but as it cooks will spread all over the fruit and get crispy, so it’s fine. Bake at 350 degrees for 40 minutes

Super Yum!! 

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

