I Suck at Suburbia or I Want to be a Midtown Girl

I live in Owasso (suburb 20 min North of Tulsa, for those of you not from around here.)  My husband owned a house here when we met and I was living in a small apartment, so when it came time to talk about where to live, it only made sense for me to move in with him.  He hasn’t owned the house long enough for us to get anything out of the house if we were to sell anyway.  And I am all about making good financial decisions.  But the truth is I hate it.  He knows it.  He has known from the very beginning I had no desire to live in Owasso. 

I want to be in the heart of the city!  I want bars and shopping and fun things to do just outside my door.  I want dinner and a show no more than 10 min away.  I want one of those adorable 1950’s brick gingerbread style homes in those adorable midtown neighborhoods.  You know the ones.  I want when I hear about a super fun free holiday concert on Brookside to not decide not to go because it is so far away.  I want to not miss yoga class because 20 min is not enough time for me to get there before class starts. 

The truth is that I suck at suburban life.  I don’t get the appeal.  I don’t understand.  But the more important truth is that I am madly in love with my husband and I would follow him anywhere.  Really.  So here I will stay until we have some equity in the house and make a decision about where life will take us.  (Which is a big decision when you start thinking about kids and schools and all that other grown up stuff.)  In the meantime, I will try to cope with being far away from the heart of all the really cool stuff going on.  And I’ll try to be less bothered by the 25 minute drive to the heart of all of the really cool stuff.  It’s a work in progress.  Like my whole life.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life, Tulsa

Leave a Reply

