Controlling My Emotions

I am an emotional person. Too much so.  I cry at sappy movies and TV shows. Sometimes even commercials and songs.  But today, once again, it got the best of me.  I cried during a meeting at work.  Really.  I mean who even does that?  It was so incredibly embarrassing.  And it was something that really wasn’t worth crying over.  Certainly not in front of colleagues.  The issue was something I was torn over and frustrated about, but not tear worthy.  To be honest, this is not the first time I have cried at work, in front of colleagues.  I just don’t know how to control it.  I feel the emotions and the tears coming, and no matter how hard I try, I cannot stop the onslaught.  I bite my tongue, I try to distract myself, but nothing works.  I am pretty sure I will never make it in corporate America if I am known as the girl who cries when things get tough.  Any suggestions for learning to control my emotions?

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

